Forum Discussion

cburbo123
New Contributor
7 months ago

Help Please !!!

Hello, I am a senior so I am not too tech savvy with IT , so any assistance is greatly appreciated. 

I work remotely for a company called Prolific.  They have very strict security for their platform, and that is  understandable . 

My company advised me that the IP that Cox Cable has given me is on the blacklist .  I was shocked , and I was told by my job to look on the "  Whatismyipaddress " website which I did .  Cox is infact blacklisted for spam on a Sorbs . net website .  I tried to reach out to Sorbs , but, just get an automated response.  All I could find it was blacklisted for spam back in 2019.  I probably did not even have that IP . 

Customer service for Cox seems to know as little as I do !!  I need my IP Changed and can not find anyone within Cox Cable support that has a clue how to do this .

I have been told I can purchase a static IP , or purchase their complete care or buy a new modem and router.  These are not acceptable solutions . I should not have to have a business account with Cox to have an IP that is not blacklisted , nor should I have to pay $10.00 a month since the IP belongs to Cox not me, and I should not have to spend the money to replace a perfectly working modem and router. 

I did reach out to a IT group on FB, and was advised by numerous people that Cox has the ability to change my IP .  I have done all I can . I disconnected my Modem , left it unplugged for 12 hours and that did nothing .

I am nearly 70, and need to work due to the economy and I honestly feel victimized at this point . I had to pay my Cellular service to use their High Speed internet.  I can Not afford to pay for 2 internet services and I should not have to.