Forum Discussion

tenfootgiant
New Contributor
2 years ago

Excessive Intermittent upstream packet loss in the Gainesville Area.

I have an issue that stems outside of my lines and my equipment that especially happens when it rains.  This happens in Gainesville, FL about one to two blocks from where University Rd turns into Newberry Rd.

I was a tech for Xfinity for 4 years, I understand how to troubleshoot and identify an issue.  I have 0 loss to my router or modem.  All packet loss is completely upstream, and all outgoing packet loss, 0% of inbound packets that are received back are lost except what ever didn't make it to it's upstream destination. I have even tested with Cox issued equipment in the past with the exact same problem.

It happens in a wave pattern and I've tested it from other points around my area to find the exact same issues at the same times.

The loss can be anywhere from between 1-5% or 1-80% at it's worst in bursts.  If I'm idling and all packets are inbound, the problem doesn't really exist except for the small hits like website requests or whatever little is sent out while idling. If I'm working though, just as simple as connecting to a VPN is enough load to basically prevent it from working.  If I play a game, I see a nearly perfect wave pattern of about 5-60% loss back and forth non-stop until it's basically dry outside. This issue was present a few years ago and lasted about 1 year then got resolved only to be brought back with the recent hurricane.