Forum Discussion

JM12
New Contributor II
4 months ago

Motorola MB8611 connection drops frequently

Hello All,

I've been using a Motorola MB8611 cable modem for about 6 months. It's been very reliable and hardly ever drops the connection. Over the past week my modem is rebooting a few times a day. Today it's been rebooting every 20 min. I made a call to Cox to check out the line. I asked the agent in tech support about outages. I was told there were no outages in my area.

About two weeks ago Cox did an upgrade in my area. I'm wondering if that has something to do with it? Could a version of firmware been downloaded to the modem and now it's not compatible? I'm not able to view the firmware. I can't seem to connect to the modem. My modem is connected to a WiFi router. By the way, this is my modem. I did confirm that it works with Cox before purchasing. Cox activated it without issues.

Any thoughts? suggestions?

Thank in advance.

JM12
    4 months ago

My issue with the Motorola modem ended up being the cable signal into my home was too strong and for some reason there were 2 splitters in the box where the cable goes into my home. Cox did a recent upgrade in my neighborhood. Post upgrade my modem began rebooting a few times a day until about 2 weeks post upgrade when it was rebooting every 20 min. After Cox service adjust the signal and removed the splitters the signal coming into the home was good and not more reboots to date.

Good to know about the password on the Motorola with a 15 character limit. Shame on them for not documenting this in the instructions when installing the modem. 

10 Replies

Replies have been turned off for this discussion
    JM12
    New Contributor II

I don't agree with your suggestion. You forgot to mention the additional COX charge per month for the modem/router. Those of us who are tech savvy prefer to configure our routers and only get COX involved when its really necessary and save the additional $$ into our pockets.