Forum Discussion

kgvp
New Contributor
7 years ago

Zip 85209 Mesa AZ--Noise On Backbone

I have hesitated to air this issue here but I believe the seriousness of the issue warrants an explanation of the problem I've been fighting for almost two years.

Keep in mind I am located in Mesa, Arizona Zip 85209 and your issue may be totally unrelated unless you live here as well.

The issue cropped up around two years ago  At that time I was on the 50/5 plan.  I noticed slower than normal speeds particularly on the up-link side.  I went through the exhaustive Cox phone help with eventual replacement of the modem on two separate occasions.  Neither replacement helped my problem.  During my many conversations with the phone troubleshooting folks they often commented to me they couldn't "see" my modem and therefore couldn't perform the reset remotely.  I found that troubling as that pointed to an issue outside my house.

After repeated technical visits to my house where every single connector, coaxial line, and jumper was replaced at least twice the staff then concentrated on the pedestal in the front yard.  Some sort of noise was being generated into the pedestal. After confirmation of the noise a Cox network tech (not a sub-contracted company) disconnected the culprit four blocks away from me.  Amazingly my service worked normal for the next 24 hours.