Forum Discussion

TVAddict
New Contributor
7 years ago

Scientific Atlanta Discontinuation?

Hi Cox Forum!  So sorry for this long email.  Is it true that Scientific Atlanta cable boxes are being phased out?  I love them , especially because I have bad eyesight, so I prefer the larger view  of the Cox guides and banners on the Scientific Atlanta, and all font views when navigating the screen choices.   Also, the Scientific Atlantas meet my needs completely.  My daughter had a Contour for a while, but she hated it--me too-and it was eventually replaced with a Scientifc Atlanta, so I have some knowledge of using them and reviewing them.  I learned and used the Contour features just fine so that wasn't the issue.   In my home  I  have one new-ish Scientific Atlanta DVR that works great (bedroom).  I have a 2nd older one one in my family room that is on borrowed time- its "hard drive" is about gone but it gives me cable connectivity for now-- I just can't use the DVR function anymore.  The reason I am holding on to it is because of a Cox contractor tech who came to my home to look at it.  This is what he said:  he cannot replace my dying Scientific Atlanta DVR with a new or refurbished Scientific Atlanta DVR.  He said Cox is phasing them out and replacing all of them with Contours.   I do not like the Contour.  I love my Scientific Atlanta HD DVRs, especially my good  one in the bedroom.  So this tech said I could  NOT get a Scientific Atlanta from Cox--period--and he could only replace my dying Scientiic Atlanta with a Contour DVR.  More frustrating, he said once he installs a Contour in one room, he must remove my good Scientific Atlanta in the other room and also install Contour.  In other words, all Cox HD DVR cable boxes must be the same now--and that means switching to Contour.  We can no longer have a Scientiic Atlanta in one room, and a Contour in the other.   That means I would lose my good Scientific Atlanta and be forced to switch to Contour.  Is that true?