Email transfer before deactivation

I recently cancelled service that was under my wife's name and have restarted service under my name due to personal reasons.     I was told that they would transfer my email account from her account to my new account and it would remain active.      This was approximatley 1 month ago.    I received an email yesterday informing me that my email account would soon be deactivated.    I called support again and asked that it be transferred and kept active and I was told they did so and I would get an email soon confirming.   Instead I got an email that they updated my email notification preferences. 

Is there someone who can help me ensure that my email account is not deactivated?

Thanks!