Forum Discussion

Namrevil71
New Contributor
8 years ago

Ultimate Tier speed issue in Virginia Beach VA

Good afternoon,

I have an SB6183 16x4 channel modem which should be giving me speeds up to 300mbps as of this mth for my neighborhood. I have confirmed with Cox tech support that all of Hampton Roads customers should be able to receive 300mbps down with a minimum of a 16 channel Docsis 3.0 modem which I have. It is less than a year old.  I had a senior tech out to the house recently and all levels from the street to the modem are perfect. I am also getting the blue bonded channel light sequence as always so I know the modem is receiving the correct signal from the node.  I was a tech support lead with Cox for 5 years and am currently an IT Support administrator for another company so I have a clear understanding of what is needed as far as my hardware and network setup at home to achieve these speeds. My PC(Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro,Intel Core I7 dual core processor,8gb mem, Windows 10 64bit, SSD drive) is directly connected with a gigabit adapter and Cat 6 cable to my Linksys WRT1900AC router with gigabit ports or directly connected to the modem I get the max speed of 170-190mbps . Disabling security software or Windows firewall has no affect and same results in IE, Chrome, or Firefox. Speakeasy and speedtest.net all give same results. I have even tested after midnight when there should be very little area network traffic and no change in speed. I am currently waiting on a call back from someone in tech support hopefully today or tomorrow but wanted to post a quick message in the meantime to see if anyone else is having a similar issue in the southern VA Beach(Lago Mar neighborhood) area.

Thank You

5 Replies

Replies have been turned off for this discussion
    Namrevil71
    New Contributor