Forum Discussion

JMAN3203
New Contributor II
5 years ago

Constant Packet Loss From Cox Node

I've had an issue with packet loss since December, and that's just when I really noticed it. It makes my gaming sessions basically unplayable. I had one of Cox's (contract) service techs come out and he found everything to be nominal. (Mer, ber, etc.) I've been running WinMTR off and on for a couple months now and the results are always the same with anywhere from 5-50+% packet loss at times. I was running a SB6190 modem, and then found out what a turd it is and promptly switched it out for a SB8200, which is my current, and is hooked to a Asus AC1900 router, but I stay hardwired using only my phone with Wi-Fi. I've seen quite a few similar posts, but have yet to see a solution. 

I'm on their Ultimate Plan, and the up/down speeds are pretty on par for the package, and typically little to no issue with ping or jitter. 

The node I always have issues with is:

dalsbprj01-ae1.0.rd.dl.cox.net

This is pinging google at 1/sec with a 64byte packet. https://imgur.com/U5vQZuJ

https://imgur.com/TuT6i7L

https://imgur.com/Jc7Zh5Y

EDIT: And I'll add, I've done just about every possible thing on my end to try and rectify the issue, all the way to buying new hardware to no avail. 

6 Replies

Replies have been turned off for this discussion
    JonathanJ
    Former Moderator
    @JMAN3203

You mentioned being hardwired to the router. Are you able to bypass the router reboot the modem and hardwired a device directly to the modem for testing purposes?

Jonathan J
    Cox Moderator
      JMAN3203
      New Contributor II

I have tried this with the same results. I might not have paid too much attention, but I don't know which site is which when plugged into the modem, I'll try again shortly.

blind7125
    New Contributor