R_Wilmoth's profile

New Contributor

 • 

4 Messages

Closed

syncing deleted messages from imap server

I seem to be able to force syncing between Thunderbird and Cox IMAP server by closing Thunderbird.  e.g., If I delete messages locally, they still appear on Cox Webmail until I close & re-copen the Thunderbird client.  Is there a way to manually force synchronization from Thunderbird?

Valued Contributor

 • 

1.7K Messages

There is a switch setting within Thunderbird to do this:

Go to: Tools/Options/Advanced tab
Click on Config Editor, Click "I'll be careful" to the "This may void your warranty" box.
Search for mail.imap in the search box.
Change the mail.imap.expunge_after_delete entry to true
Close all Options windows

That's it, close and restart Thunderbird for the option to take effect.  Now, when you delete a message in Tbird, it will move it to the trash folder then expunge it from the server.  If you refresh your webmail, the message will be gone.  HTH.

New Contributor

 • 

4 Messages

Thanks!  That did it.  I keep forgetting to look at all the 100s of settings in about:config that Mozilla uses.