Welcome to the Cox Community
Our community is a collaborative place to learn about Cox products and services. Jump into the conversation today!
Messages
Selected Messages
Our community is a collaborative place to learn about Cox products and services. Jump into the conversation today!
New Contributor
•
1 Message
Closed
Hello,
I am trying to go to this link http://www.llewynation.com/rd/r.php?sid=2699&pub=800695&c1=#s1&c2=s2&c3=reqid
when i called cox they said the link is working but when i try it I get the below error message.
Dear Valued Cox Customer,
You have been taken to this page because you followed a link in a fraudulent email. This email was not from Cox Communications.
Occasionally, Cox customers receive emails masquerading as Cox Communications and requesting account information. Usually they urgently ask for you to update your billing information, and request credit card and other personal or account information.
Please understand that Cox will never request our customers' personal financial or account information via email.
Email of this type is called "phishing." These emails are illegal attempts to collect confidential information from internet users. When detected, Cox takes immediate action to insure that access to these sites is first blocked from the Cox network, and then works with hosting ISP's to terminate the accounts.
For more information in combating online fraud or to file a complaint, visithttp://onguardonline.gov .
Regards,
Cox Communications
Your Friend in the Digital Age
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
they told me i had a virus and that cox doesnt block sites, however when i went to the computer repair store they were getting the same error message as i was on brand new computers.
not being able to view websites is really hurting my business. any help on how to correct this problem would be greatly appreciated.
Discussions
•
Updated
5.1K
2
0
0
I have no service
Discussions
1
0
Debt collectors
Discussions
1
0
Unable to cancel hulu
Discussions
1
0
Connected without internet
Discussions
1
0
Free streaming per advertisement
Discussions
2
0
Frequent Outages
Discussions
1
0
Outages
Discussions
0
0
Variety pack
Discussions
1
0
They don’t care
Discussions
1
0
Worst Service Ever!
Discussions
1
0
Health_Edge
+5 more
Valued Contributor III
•
Looks like your clicking on a link which is bad. It redirects you to http://www.imotors.com/ which is a fine site, but before it directs you there, llewynation.com collects user information.
Can you go to http://www.imotors.com/ without problem? That site looks to be safe from everything I can tell.
http://www.llewynation.com comes on the other hand, comes up with all kinds of warnings when I search google for info, including:
"part of spammer/identity harvester chain pimping 1-800 dentist services to server machine accounts."
https://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/llewynation.com
"This link might be dangerous. We tested it and found security risks. Beware."
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/llewynation.com
0
0
AllenP
+4 more
Valued Contributor
•
That site was probably reported to Cox as a phishing site and they blocked access to it in their DNS servers to protect their customers. If you really want to go to that site, AND I STRONGLY ADVISE AGAINST IT, you can use Google DNS servers to replace Cox. The owner of the site is hiding behind a company called Protection Services, Inc who's function is to shield actual site owners from common lookups. A Cox DNS lookup does resolve to a Cox security page displaying the message you posted, I would take their advice unless you are 110% sure it's a legit site.
Now, OTOH, if that's your site and Cox is blocking it by mistake, you will have to work with Cox security to straighten it out.
0
0