Domino's profile

Valued Contributor III

 • 

2.8K Messages

Closed

"Keep until"

In Trio (Contour), what is the difference between Keep Until "I DELETE" and Keep Until "I VIEWED" ??

Both yield green circles before viewing, and green circles after viewing. Programs marked Keep Until "I VIEWED" are not deleted after viewing.

What is the OFFICIAL difference?

 

Moderator

 • 

4.3K Messages

Hi Domino,

The "Keep until Viewed" feature is supposed to automatically delete a program after it is watched. When  you watch something that you've recorded, do you typically stop the recording before it gets to the very end, or do you let the recording run until it stops automatically?

For example, I don't like to see previews for upcoming episodes, so I normally stop the recording before it gets to the very end. My thought is that Contour may not be auto-deleting recordings (per the "Keep Until Viewed" setting) unless it plays through the entire recording.

Valued Contributor III

 • 

2.8K Messages

Becky said:

Hi Domino,

The "Keep until Viewed" feature is supposed to automatically delete a program after it is watched. When  you watch something that you've recorded, do you typically stop the recording before it gets to the very end, or do you let the recording run until it stops automatically?

For example, I don't like to see previews for upcoming episodes, so I normally stop the recording before it gets to the very end. My thought is that Contour may not be auto-deleting recordings (per the "Keep Until Viewed" setting) unless it plays through the entire recording.

I've tried it both ways. Can't get one to delete. It would kill two birds with one stone if all new recordings were marked as Keep Until "I Viewed" until viewed, then changed to Keep Until "Space Needed" (with orange circle) after program is viewed.

 

Former Moderator

 • 

1.9K Messages

Domino,

The only time the DVR should delete a show is when space is needed. The Keep Until "I delete" means the DVR will not delete the show even if space is needed. The Keep Until "I viewed" means the DVR will delete the show when space is needed as long as you have viewed some portion of it. 

Valued Contributor III

 • 

2.8K Messages

StephanieA said:

Domino,

The only time the DVR should delete a show is when space is needed. The Keep Until "I delete" means the DVR will not delete the show even if space is needed. The Keep Until "I viewed" means the DVR will delete the show when space is needed as long as you have viewed some portion of it. 

 

But it doesn't (I've tried it.) Also, if it changes to Keep Until Space Needed after some portion is viewed, the green circle should change to orange. But it doesn't. It stays green, making it look instead like Keep Until I Delete. That's the problem. It's not changing status after viewing.