Domino's profile

Valued Contributor III

 • 

2.8K Messages

Closed

Save Until

With Contour, you have THREE choices with "SAVE UNTIL": 1) I DELETE, 2) I VIEW, 3) SPACE NEEDED. Both "I DELETE" and "I VIEW" place a green circle next to the program. "SPACE NEEDED" places an orange circle next to the program. However, the program is NOT deleted after viewing when delete after "I VIEW" is selected. Both save until "I DELETE" and "I VIEW" treat the program in the exact same way.  Why is this?

Valued Contributor III

 • 

2.8K Messages

TiffanyR said:
Hi Domino, 

Are you letting the recording completely finish and automatically return to the DVR list or when the recording is showing a credit or commercial at the end exit out to DVR List? 

The recording doesn't automatically return to the DVR list in either mode. When the recording ends, a blue pop-up screen appears asking if I want to delete this program, and to press "B" if I want to delete it. This occurs whether the program is marked as KEEP UNTIL I DELETE (Green Circle), or KEEP UNTIL I VIEWED (Green Circle.) I am letting the program finish, which is when the blue screen pops up.

New Contributor III

 • 

114 Messages

I have to support Domino here. I just did a little Google search and the confusion over the Keep Until options has been around for OVER a year, perhaps 2 years dating back to before the Contour rebrand.

What, Cox Support, is the status of correcting this basic DVR functionality that your older Passport programming guide handled so elegantly?

Why, Cox, since you are writing this Contour/Trio IPG software yourselves, did you NOT look at your existing DVR guide software for functionality your customers would expect once you convinced them (with your flashy Contour ad campaigns) to upgrade?

I think paying customers have a right to know what issues/features are being developed. Transparency builds trust. We have choices for our TV and need to know these critical DVR flaws are being addressed NOW and are coming in a future code push.

Valued Contributor III

 • 

2.8K Messages

TiffanyR said:

Once the recording stops and goes to the blue screen, if you wait the blue screen should go away and the recording will be deleted. Can you test this for me and tell me if that happens? 

Wait how long?

Valued Contributor III

 • 

2.8K Messages

TiffanyR said:
It normally only takes a couple minutes. 

I waited 7 minutes. Anything longer than 5-10 SECONDS is too long. The Save Until "I DELETE" and the Save Until "I VIEW" selections act exactly the same.

Valued Contributor III

 • 

2.8K Messages

TiffanyR said:

Hi Domino, 

I am sorry for the confusion. When you select Save until I view, it puts the program back into the DVR list but instead of saving until you manually erase it, it will be deleted automatically if space is needed after any portion of the recording has been watched.

Then it should go back to DVR list with an orange circle, not a green one. If you don't delete it, it returns to the DVR list with a GREEN circle, the same as if were originally marked Save Until "I DELETE." There is no way of knowing it's different (if it is.)

Valued Contributor III

 • 

2.8K Messages

Domino said:

TiffanyR said:

Hi Domino, 

I am sorry for the confusion. When you select Save until I view, it puts the program back into the DVR list but instead of saving until you manually erase it, it will be deleted automatically if space is needed after any portion of the recording has been watched.

Then it should go back to DVR list with an orange circle, not a green one. If you don't delete it, it returns to the DVR list with a GREEN circle, the same as if were originally marked Save Until "I DELETE." There is no way of knowing it's different (if it is.)

Is somebody still looking into this issue?

Recent Discussions