mimbler's profile

New Contributor

 • 

7 Messages

Closed

can no longer receive email from a particular address topic locked?

For some reason the thread I recently posted is locked (shows a padlock and no way to reply), so I am answering a posters question here.  

The domain is gmail.com.

thanks to both posters for their helpful replies.

 Mike

Valued Contributor II

 • 

2.8K Messages

What is the bounce back or error the sender is getting? I just sent a email from my Gmail account to a Cox account and it worked. Maybe only happening in some areas? I am North East Coast. Also see here for more info on trending issue.

New Contributor

 • 

7 Messages

Tecknowhelp,

I'll ask him, but I think he is not getting any feedback emails, he just started hearing from his subscribers that they were not receiving them, and all complaints came from his cox subscribers.  

I'll write him and confirm my understanding and report back

thanks,  Mike

Accepted Solution

Valued Contributor II

 • 

2.8K Messages

mimbler said:
he just started hearing from his subscribers that they were not receiving them

Also ask him to "scrub his unsubs". Some people will mark a email as spam if they unsubscribe but still receive the emails. I think what Cox might have changed is how many "mark as spam" until the sender(either their IP or domain) is blocked. 

Once you get the bounce back, the error and unlock scenario can be found here.  Also, see here for the procedure of emailing unblock.requests@cox.net. 

If the sender didn't get a bounce back, see if they can the email headers(to another non Cox email) of the email they sent to the Cox email address. If I can compare those headers to the ones for the test email I sent, then maybe I can see what the root problem is. 

PS. You aren't the only one having this issue, I just haven't see what the problem is clearly documented.

New Contributor

 • 

7 Messages

Here's another bit of the puzzle.  He can send his emails from another location (computer at friend's) and they go through just fine.  It seems that Cox system doesn't like his IP address for some reason,

     Mike

Valued Contributor II

 • 

2.8K Messages

mimbler said:
 It seems that Cox system doesn't like his IP address for some reason,

That is good data to know. I agree with your assessment. Have him check his IP here, and then see if it is Black listed here. 

New Contributor

 • 

7 Messages

I sent him the links, I'll report back when I here something,

thanks,  Mike

New Contributor

 • 

7 Messages

Ok, he was getting rejection emails.  Here is a typical one:

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Mail Delivery Subsystem <mailer-daemon@googlemail.com>
Date: Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Subject: Saturday
To: johndoe@gmail.com


Delivery to the following recipient failed permanently:

     johndoe@cox.net

Technical details of permanent failure:
The recipient server did not accept our requests to connect. Learn more at https://support.google.com/mail/answer/7720
[mx.east.cox.net. 68.1.17.3: 421 eastrmimpi312.cox.net cox 209.85.214.65 blocked - Error Code: CDRBL - Refer to Error Codes section athttp://postmaster.cox.net/confluence/display/postmaster/Error+Codes for more information.
]
[mx.west.cox.net. 68.6.19.3: 421 fed1rmimpi110.cox.net cox 209.85.214.65 blocked - Error Code: CDRBL - Refer to Error Codes section athttp://postmaster.cox.net/confluence/display/postmaster/Error+Codes for more information.
]

----- Original message -----

DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed;
        d=gmail.com; s=20120113;
        h=mime-version:from:date:message-id:subject:to;
        bh=4SIyvOs6HaL7Wp/3Fphs/6NfwHytu+tx86VT8dywsJ8=;
        b=V561ruN8aOUmchhOOZ8hms6VV/DonIdrjzGkqOreEB1WzUsgsFbVQJ6DRUAF3ybK9H
         VJHFU7WRShkGofAC14CDgur6XEr1EmrsE9vS+CPkyUyt2eQpUgG4ueez0Jx2qLgZcRFt
         jGVrjcZWWg4PklakTFIAJVGlTG8ouLdw4Pub26izJ99iTs3F7wTr1hnnN1ePH9QWAwjB
         9WysUdPlc12mOrW5I9MncFCtJm5Fvt6ttxZXZr25Pi9OFiKHc3znO7Krc2vS5o3f37Oz
         ZH+Obx83JC2H2WMmNia7G/F96p87hDvBo+wtzSsdf+4y+ZZej0N/TLjd2adpmTs5DCLj
         QvpA==
X-Google-DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed;
        d=1e100.net; s=20130820;
        h=x-gm-message-state:mime-version:from:date:message-id:subject:to;
        bh=4SIyvOs6HaL7Wp/3Fphs/6NfwHytu+tx86VT8dywsJ8=;
        b=DdzI0+oLDXTQ79Upgvv8mPxMC2hd1p5JNpUfQ6aXCa7Uf814rqepX8z4skqjr/ryRC
         4N/4//spaVYPFIiP5IZh0cuUD05xrVOg/VGkMAdotIsrNFxo60+mvaVF+MGEEUUZfJ3r
         Xj2eBKsgg5ZuSjhhUNEnZ5kYW6wWHK++VIzFp4hEaELi4yJ3wLjIj/I4UdPqhcs6LMRl
         qmt4V+AcxI9DhokmaqxtfNb/CSGdS27BfuRL3Av8LS3vCYmS/xinjGXRKIbHlFKdhjTN
         SgMmyRFFlJx4Kaee7f2aefrFANV5RC9dRAss6dGD2pgVJhyrHeTO5UiBIyECuvbKTAgU
         ajdg==
X-Gm-Message-State: ABUngvdLigOtId7/XcEWpeLrbjz8R0PkNGTebjbSNdv4vwe36bU2OPulZQ0Kq3988ZwmPceFRVjNGHqE+HeDQA==
X-Received: by 10.107.164.202 with SMTP id d71mr16675763ioj.185.1478918471554;
 Fri, 11 Nov 2016 18:41:11 -0800 (PST)
MIME-Version: 1.0
Received: by 10.107.131.79 with HTTP; Fri, 11 Nov 2016 18:41:10 -0800 (PST)
From: William Smith <johndoe@gmail.com>
Date: Fri, 11 Nov 2016 20:41:10 -0600
Message-ID: <CALB1kyOV7F2JDACjN=EcyYNPEjLkNJbjbR433grRKFTdCjY62g@mail.gmail.com>
Subject: Saturday
To: undisclosed-recipients:;
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary=001a1142189c2621860541118a3a

New Contributor

 • 

7 Messages

Cox support told me this means it is being considered as spam by the Cox system and they gave me a form to send to the sender to get off of the spam list.

Hopefully this will resolve it.  Thanks for all the helpful replies!

Mike

Valued Contributor II

 • 

2.8K Messages

From what I can tell, Gmail's severs are being hit by a DDOS, which is getting them blacklisted, which makes Cox block them. Good news is both blocks auto remove after a certian time (usually 24-48hr) after unusual activity is no longer detected. In the mean time, have them try sending email to you in a different way. If they are using the gmail website, try through a client like Thunderbird. I think Gmails website and SMTP servers can use different MTA which aren't blocked. That could be why your friend was able to send one to you.

BlacklistReasonTTLResponseTime
  LISTED BACKSCATTERER 209.85.214.65 was listed  Detail 2100 78 Ignore
  LISTED CASA CBL 209.85.214.65 was listed  Detail 10800 94

Ignore

Backscatter Blacklists are specifically looking at a type of traffic from an email server IP Address related to a Non-Delivery Report/Receipt (NDR), also called a bounce-back or bounce message. Backscatter (also known as outscatter, misdirected bounces, blowback or collateral spam) is the incorrect automated bounce messages sent by mail servers, typically as a side effect of incoming spam from a Denial of Service (DoS) or Directory-Harvesting attack on a mail server.

Related Content

Recent Discussions