Forum Discussion

mumin_cam
New Contributor II
4 years ago

How to cheat customers ?

I have been playing PC games for 25 years and i have been playing pretty much the same game.

-Dota-2 and Counter Strike

So, when it was year 2005 -2013 people were not able to use high speed internet. I used to play those game with 128 kbps download speed to 1mbps download speed.

Since online games are not dependent on the download speed i was able to play those games with 50-60 ms ping without lags or delays.

Last 2 years I was in NY and my download speed was 10 Mbps and i had no issue while i play online games.

Let's come to the main point.

I moved to Virginia and in my apartment there is only cox as an internet service provider.

When i applied for the internet service the guy from Cox insisted on me to buy 150 mbps internet if i want to play games ??!!!

I taught why would i need that speed ? i don't even utilize that speed when i play my games 1 mbps internet is more than enough ( supposed to be, in normal conditions)

Then i bought 10 mbps internet , but there is no chance that you can play games with that internet because you loaded latency is always more than 700 ms.

then i called cox maybe 12 times , i explained them i want my loaded latency to be lowered to around 40-60 ms ( which is normal ). The guys in technical support ( they are not technical ) have no idea and only thing they can offer is upgrading my internet , 10 mbps is so slow you cant play games ???!!!! Excuse me !!! Are you kidding ?!!!

After 12 times ( btw they told me to pay 10 dollars per month for 3 moths for NOTHING , if i want cox support crew in my apartment to check my internet ). Let me mention that , this is crazy. This guys from COX they just come to you house and check your download speed :))))))))) THis is so funny  and if its OK . you pay 75 dollars since DL speed is fine. I would like to use better words to descriBE COX internet but i am not like them.