Welcome to the Cox Community
Our community is a collaborative place to learn about Cox products and services. Jump into the conversation today!
Messages
Selected Messages
Our community is a collaborative place to learn about Cox products and services. Jump into the conversation today!
New Contributor
•
1 Message
Closed
Discussions
•
Updated
4.1K
3
0
0
Worst Service Ever!
Discussions
1
0
Disabling CoxWifi
Discussions
3
Victoria B
Discussions
2
0
Unable to cancel hulu
Discussions
1
0
Moving my spectrum connection
Discussions
1
0
Bills
Discussions
0
0
Internet outage 24 hrs
Discussions
1
0
Wifi 7
Discussions
1
0
Frequent Outages
Discussions
2
Health_Edge
+5 more
Valued Contributor III
•
I think your out of luck. Once you cancel internet, the system is supposed to delete all email and deactive the email account. This is for your privacy so someone can't just choose the same username and see all your email. You CAN add your old email account to your parents account, but that should only get you the username, not the email in the inbox. I say "should" because the system isn't perfect and may not have deleted the inbox if you catch it soon enough. It most likely did though. Sorry.
0
0
Becky
+2 more
Moderator
•
Hi Ycurtis,
Health Edge is most likely correct. When you disconnect your Cox Internet service, all user names and associated email addresses are released for reuse, and mailbox contents are deleted. There are times when mailbox contents are not deleted immediately, but instead are briefly held in a locked state to be deleted during normal server cleanup. The official policy is stated below.
Cox is authorized to delete any files, programs, data and email messages associated with such account. As a courtesy Cox may, but is not obligated to, retain your emails for a short period of time following termination in the event you resume use of the Service.
0
0
yak
Contributor III
•
At one time Cox offered the option of continuing your email service for $9.99 a month. Online only. It was wonderful. You could monitor the people who had forgotten to change or delete your email address. It was expensive but it was worth it not to lose any communications. Cox discontinued the service. They should bring it back.
0
0