Forum Discussion

MasterMyDomain
Contributor
4 years ago

Cannot manually block a number

I press *60, then 2, then enter a valid 10 digit number and am told it is an invalid number.  But if it was the last number that called and I press # it is successfully blocked but when it is read back to me it puts the number one in front of it, eg, 222-222-2222 is read back as 1-222-222-2222.  This started yesterday.  At about the same time this problem started Cox began putting quotation marks around the caller's name in the call history which I now have to remove if I want to sort the spreadsheet by name.  I'm not a novice in this area,  I've been doing this on Cox every day for over 3 years without problems.. 

13 Replies

Bruce
    Honored Contributor III

Hasn't Cox always inserted the Name Field of their Caller ID within single quotes?  For example...and this number is well documented as a nuisance number...from my Cox Call History log:  '800 Service'   (888) 269-3447.  Or is what you're saying is Cox is now using double quotes?

You can't block an invalid number but an invalid can call you:  priceless!  What do YOU mean by valid...the number contains 10 digits or you looked it up in an assignment database?  Probably a dumb question, but is the telephone number in question preceded with the Country Code "1" in your Cox Call History?

I think when Cox identifies a number as invalid, it probably means the number is not an NANP-assignable number.  In other words, you can't *60 a fake number.  Moreover, if you pound-sign the last call, Cox still identifies it as not NANP-assignable and assumes an out-of-area call within North America.

You're to block the number anyways...so what's its first 6 digits?