Forum Discussion

decipher
Contributor
2 years ago

very slow upload, download slower than usual, connection drops

Is anyone else experiencing very slow upload speeds in Phoenix AZ?  It started yesterday.  The problem is intermittent. Yesterday, we had a Cox tech inspect the lines on the pole in our alley. 

The connection improved.  Today I am experiencing a very similar problem. 
I work at home and the software we use requires a faster upload speed.

I pay for 500/10 and have the updated panoramic model.

I called Cox again this morning the rep saw lots of packet loss and connection problems. My connection improved shortly thereafter.  
Another tech is on the way today.  

I have been working at home for over 2 years and have never reset my modem on a regular basis.  
Cox sent me an email earlier in the week about the planned outage in my region to increase bandwidth.
I wonder if one of the reasons why Cox is now doing this service upgrade is due to similar problems experienced by many other local users.

16 Replies

Replies have been turned off for this discussion
  • Today, a tech found an attenuator on the box attached to my house.  Yesterday, a tech working in our alley removed an old part used by Cox to prevent access to premium channel content.  Both parts were supposedly creating this problem.  Hope it is resolved.  Why would these two parts create a major issue now, while installed causing no problems for over a decade?  I've missed over 7 hours of work during the past 2 days due to this problem.

Sicnus
      New Contributor

I feel like I'm having the exact same issues.  Only upload speeds are affected.  Not download.  I've had Cox replace cable modem and no bueno.  Not sure what's going on.  I'd leave but I can't no competition here where I live in Macon, GA.  Sad that we are both having the same exact problem and 1/2 a county apart. 

_I_ believe the issues is QoS or traffic shaping by the ISP to handle over provisioning.  XD