Forum Discussion

LNCalibuckeye
New Contributor
4 years ago
Solved

Gigablast barely reaching 550mbps after multiple tech support appointments and several different answers

I've scanned this message board for solutions not finding any so decided to post after my tech support appointment today.

I've been paying for Gigablast service for the last 12 months, when it was initially activated speedtest were reaching up to 940 - 1.2gs speeds wired and up to 800mbps wireless.  I have an Arris SB8200 and the Netgear Nighthawk X6 router. My home equipment includes two top of the line Alienware gaming devices, smart tvs, a 2019 macbook pro, ps4 pro and various android and apple devices that have gigabit ethernet wired connections when needed. So my equipment is up to par and not outdated.    When Covid-19 hit I noticed slower speeds and let it go due to the pandemic for several months until late June when I started running speedtest and became furious that the speeds were running 150-300mbps. So I setup the first tech support appointment and magically the morning of the appointment the speeds were up to 400 - 500mbps that morning.  The first tech ran test from my router and modem and and found my equipment was excellent. He went back outside and found some issues with their control box that needed to be updated by the higher level "maintenance" department.  Before leaving he claimed said he placed that order and it would take a few weeks to be completed.