Forum Discussion

Ric219
New Contributor

Phoenix Area Interruptions

Hello,

Why is there a daily interruption in the Tempe/Phoenix area? I experience minute-long outages (full modem outage, lights all turn off) 5-15 times daily. It may not seem like much of an inconvenience, but this is every single day and is a massive problem for those of us that need a reliable, stable connection. I've been using your services for only 4 months now and so far your only troubleshooting is "did you try turning it off and back on again?" and "Oh it must be your modem, swap it 3 times. That should fix it." Which, again, this is a location based issue and can be easily determined with a quick glance at downdetector.com/.../ any day of the week at any time of day.

I've done your phone support (every single agent says "Must be the modem. Try a different one.") and I've tried having a technician out to fix your issue (which you tried to charge me $55 for, twice, without notifying me) and at this point my only assumption is that you want me to switch providers. Which I'm fine with. But at least be honest about the issue.

2 Replies

Replies have been turned off for this discussion
    yak
    Contributor III

I live at the Phx/Tempe border and have not had any interruptions.

Sending out a technician used to be free.  Now there is a charge ( i thought it was $75) if the problem is inside your home.  That is worrisome because i don't know what box (on the invoice) the technician is going to check when he leaves. I always ask them as they are leaving. 

Tecknowhelp
    Valued Contributor II

I am pretty sure there has always been charges for any trouble call caused by a problem after the demarc/house box. This would include inside wiring and customer equipment. This wouldn't include modem hardware issues if you rent the modem. See here for more discussion.