Forum Discussion

KenK
Contributor
7 years ago

Contour 2 remote does not work well

I am only about 4 feet from the cable box and I have to move the remote to different spots to get it to work with the cable box.

The settings under remote states the batteries are 90% but I decided to change them with no change. I tried power cycling

the cable box with no change.   I thought it was just my cable box/remote when my Wife told me the Cable box she uses has

the same problem.  The settings on her box also state around 90% battery and I changed those batteries as well indicating

100% in the settings but still very touchy remote.  The remote is RF not IR.  The IR works perfectly on my box because I use

a sling box which changes channels when viewing my cable box remotely. It uses a RF sensor I place in front of the cable box.

I have been using a slingbox for over 10 years with COX and its just a matter programming the slingbox to the new cable box

for the correct IR codes.

If it were just my box I would request a replacement but since its my Wife's cable box/remote doing the same thing I am wondering if a firmware update might be causing this problem?   I had a problem with my caller ID not working and they told be the box was getting a firmware update and that should fix the caller ID.  It did but I am thinking right around that time the RF issue with my remote started.   The remote is a XR11-RF.   A customer service rep at one of the COX stores gave me another remote. Same exact problem.  I don't think its the remote.  

Any ideas what might be causing the problem?   Is there a way to turn off the RF and use  IR which I know is working very well.

I also know the remote does have IR capabilities since it can control my TV.

Ken

1 Reply

Replies have been turned off for this discussion
    KenK
    Contributor

I found a solution for my problem.  I did a search and found this link