Forum Discussion

tomjhansen
New Contributor
6 years ago

Data usage for tv shows/movies via Contour

I'm new to Contour 2 and I enjoy the features built into the box.  I noticed a big increase in my data usage (from 300GB to 750 GB) the first month on Contour.  I had days that were in the 45-50 GB range.  What I'm wondering is do movies and TV episodes that show up in my Contour 2 guide as "On Demand", even though they are free, count against my data cap?  For example, I'm paying for HBO - so a movie that's on HBO also shows up in the On Demand portion of the guide.  If I record and watch it later, obviously it doesn't count against my data cap.  But if I select "start over" or "watch now", that has to be downloaded to the Contour 2 over the internet.

Also, I'm assuming any YouTube or Netflix via the Contour 2 box is the same as using my Apple TV 4 box - it would count against my data cap.

5 Replies

Replies have been turned off for this discussion
    will_ditch_cox_
    New Contributor III

Wait a minute.  Am I getting this correct? Items that you play on your cable box as on demand are deducted from your data allowance?  WTF.  Youtube and Netflix I get, but wow, unbelievable. 

tomjhansen
      New Contributor

Will - I don't think the on demand counts - if I read Maria's article correctly.  There isn't an icon (Internet) on them in the Contour 2 guide. 

I'm seeing higher spikes on days that I use apps (primarily Starz or Showtime) from my Apple TV 4 - which are in HD.  The Contour 2 guide doesn't have everything that's available, so in order to watch old episodes of Outlander, my wife needs to stream them.  

I'm guessing that I'll need to pay the $50 extra a month for unlimited as soon as more content is available in 4K streaming.  If there was an alternative, I would look into it - but in my neighborhood, the competition is only 20 mbps.  Hopefully, the cap will go up as the 4K content demands go up.  

Bruce
    Honored Contributor III