Forum Discussion

CajunCrusader
New Contributor
7 years ago

Inconsistent Upload Speeds Causing Excessive Dropped Frames When Streaming to Twitch.TV

I recently moved back to my home town and Cox is the only ISP in the area that offers decent speeds.  I am currently getting 150Mbps/10Mbps speeds via various speed tests.  Ever since I've been on this service, I have been plagued with issues broadcasting to Twitch.TV, something I do on the side for a hobby/petty cash.

I have done all the troubleshooting a person can do and have talked to more representatives at Cox than anyone would care to!  I am so relieved to hear I am not the only person experiencing this.

I am a Senior Systems Engineer by trade, I deal with major ISPs and networks on a daily basis.  I have even taken a router to test with that retails at over $5,000.00 to prove that it was not my hardware.  I have replaced modems, tried different NICs, you name it, I've done it.

This is most certainly, beyond any shadow of doubt, and issue with the ISP (Cox).  Whether they are purposely "throttling" this traffic or they are just overselling their mediocre service, this needs to be addressed!  

I am growing rather irritated at the fact that no rep nor technician can pinpoint these issues or even explain them.  I am quite certain there are very competent personnel working at Cox that should be able to pinpoint this.  It is basic UDP traffic, not that complex.

Any other insights, suggestions, rants, testimonies, gripes, wines, or any other constructive chat on this would be greatly appreciated!

3 Replies

Replies have been turned off for this discussion