Forum Discussion

QinSD
New Contributor
9 years ago

Cox capacity issues San Diego

Does Cox employ any actual network engineers or just techs with testing equipment? I ask this because there seems to be some serious capacity issues in my area of San Diego that are not getting resolved. Months ago I complained several times about slow internet speeds. I have the 100mpbs service and during the afternoon and evening I am only getting 4-20mpbs. I have had techs come out at least 6 or 7 times and each time they test the physical cabling and box on the street and determine nothing is wrong. However, it's because they're testing at 12 noon instead of 10PM. I am a network engineer, so please spare me the troubleshooting steps of removing the router, etc, etc. Just to prove it's not my equipment, I always plug my computer right into the cable modem when troubleshooting on the phone or when the tech comes. The coax for the cable modem runs straight through the wall to outside. I have even replaced two modems at the advice of Cox even though I knew there was nothing wrong with the modems. I routinely run speed tests on cox's site and I know the customer service people can see this results. Simply putting these results into a graph would show speeds are SEVERELY reduced during peak hours. This means Cox needs to upgrade capacity. I am not expecting to max out 100mbps at all time, but 4-20mbps is unacceptable. I can barely watch youtube and Netflix at high quality when it's getting 4mbps. Not sure what to do anymore. Don't want to switch to U-Verse because their max speeds are only 50mbps. But I will take a consistent 50mpbs over a non-existent 100mpbs.

4 Replies

Replies have been turned off for this discussion
    Health_Edge
    Valued Contributor III

" I am a network engineer, so please spare me the troubleshooting steps of removing the router, etc, etc."